When Your Best is Not Good Enough: CrossFit Games Open recap

Posted: April 10, 2014 in Brain Tumor, CrossFit
Tags: , , , , ,

CF_open2014

My best in the CrossFit Open competition was not good enough. The WOD’s this year just did not support my strengths and skills. Along with great coaching, and the support of my box I was able to get on the board and put in my best effort less than three months after finishing treatment for brain cancer.

WOD 14.1
Complete as many rounds and reps as possible in 10 minutes of:
30 double-unders
55-lb. power snatches, 15 reps
-started with double unders, something I gave up working on long ago. I may be fast at single jump rope but stink at double unders. My score was 7 for the WOD.

Almost to the top

Almost to the top

WOD 14.2
From 0:00-3:00
2 rounds of:
10 overhead squats at 65#
10 chest-to-bar pull-ups
From 3:00-6:00
2 rounds of:
12 overhead squats
12 chest-to-bar pull-ups
From 6:00-9:00
2 rounds of:
14 overhead squats
14 chest-to-bar pull-ups
Etc., following same pattern until you fail to complete both rounds

-can’t do pull-up so got score of 10 for the overhead squats at 65 pounds, which was challenging enough

 

Box Jumps

WOD 14.3
Complete as many reps as possible in 8 minutes of:
95-lb. deadlifts, 10 reps
15 box jumps, 20-inch
135-lb. deadlifts, 15 reps
15 box jumps, 20-inch
155-lb. deadlifts, 20 reps
15 box jumps, 20-inch
185-lb. deadlifts, 25 reps
15 box jumps, 20-inch
205-lb. deadlifts, 30 reps
15 box jumps, 20-inch
225-lb. deadlifts, 35 reps
15 box jumps, 20-inch
-I was able to get 97 reps. My best WOD of the open and the best WOD for my middle distance athletic type. I made a major mistake. I did not think I would get to 185 so I had to run to the racks to get the weights than load them. Probably would have gotten a few more reps if I had not made the mistake.

WOD 14.4
Complete as many rounds and repetitions as possible in 14 minutes of:
60-calorie row
50 toes-to-bars
40 wall-ball shots, 14 lb. to 9-foot target
30 cleans, 95 lb.
20 muscle-ups
-Rowing is one of my best sports and I was unsure about getting any toes-to-bar going into the WOD. Took it easy because of the weightlifting meet the next day but got 73, including 13 toes to bar.
WOD 14.5
21-18-15-12-9-6-3 reps for time of:
65-lb. thrusters
Burpees

– My box had a 20 minute cap but I still wanted to do the whole workout. When it took me about 15 minutes to get though a few rounds a dropped my rx’d weight and followed the 20 minute cap. The workout was doable but it would have taken me 45 minutes with all the rest I needed. Burpees are not my thing and jumping over a barbell with weights makes it more challenging. Took me several days to recover from this workout (well the 1.25 hour strength indoor bike workout the next day did not help my recovery either). DNF

I hope my best is better next year. I know it will because I belong to a great CrossFit community in Rochester, MN at CrossFit Progression.
~dmj

Comments
  1. Myke says:

    If I ever thought I was fit, at any point in my life, you prove me wrong. You are amazing, Dawn. Keep it up.

Leave a Reply

